Tweaks to Manitoba's federal riding boundaries; no changes in PEI

The work of electoral boundary commissions in Canada’s provinces continues. Today, the commission in Manitoba proposed some tweaking of 12 of that province’s 14 ridings. While provinces like Ontario, Alberta and BC are getting more ridings, Manitoba seats will remain unchanged. 

Most ridings will keep their current names despite boundary adjustments. But the riding of Churchill, held now by New Democrat Nikki Ashton is set to become Churchill—Keewatinook Aski and the riding of Dauphin—Swan River—Neepawa is set to become Dauphin—Swan River—Neepawa.

Meanwhile, the boundary commission in Prince Edward Island has, after much weighty deliberation, concluded that no adjustments are needed to the four federal ridings there.

 Hearings on all these proposals will be held in each province this fall.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *